Auditions and Job Openings

 

Job Opportunities

Interested in working at The Strand? Job opportunities for administrative staff will be listed below as they are available. For information and availability of event staff positions, please stop The Strand during box office hours.

 


Auditions

Announcing auditions for A Christmas Tradition at the Earl Smith Strand Theatre:

Auditions September 28 and 29 at 6:30p.m.
Rehearsals November 19-December 8, Show December 9- 21

Cast:
2 Female soloists who can dance, 3 Female dancers who can sing
4 Male soloists who can dance, 2 Male dancers who can sing
Ages 16+ invited to audition

Rehearsals/Run/Compensation:
Two weeks of rehearsals + ~two weeks of shows, details below. Pay is $1,000.

Description:
This is a high energy song and dance show featuring traditional and modern holiday songs. Show is 1.5 hours with an intermission. Performers must be at the fitness level to be able to dance and sing concurrently. Soloists will be assigned featured songs in October and will be expected to start rehearsals with all parts memorized. Production will include live band.

Audition:
Auditions are Wednesday-Thursday September 28 and 29 at 6:30p.m. at the Earl Smith Strand Theatre, 117 North Park Square, Marietta, GA 30060. Only one audition day is required. To be considered for casting, you are required to complete BOTH the group dance and individual vocal audition. Auditionees should come prepared with headshot and resume. Dance audition will be first, followed by vocal auditions on a first arrival, first auditioned basis.

For vocal audition, please come prepared with 60 seconds of a holiday song that highlights your voice. No live accompaniment provided, songs should be on CD (preferred) or downloaded & cued (no Youtube videos!) on a device with headphone jack. For those who wish to be a featured soloist, please prepare a second contrasting song.

For group dance audition, auditionees should wear clothing that is easy to move in, character/dance shoes recommended. A combination will be taught for all auditionees and those that wish to show tricks/jumps/turns will be given a chance to do so. This production will be choreographed in a few short rehearsals, so ability to learn different styles quickly is as important as technical ability is.

Taped auditions will be considered for those who wish to audition, but will not be in town during these dates. Please contact Catherine Moulton for details. This being said, live auditions give the directors the best idea of your talents so please only use taped auditions as a last resort.

Call backs will be scheduled as needed.

If you are interested in auditioning, please email Catherine Moulton at catherine@earlsmithstrand.org with the date you wish to attend.

Dates:
Detailed rehearsal schedule and calls to be provided at a later date. Please prepare to be at all rehearsals, all performers not scheduled to rehearse on a certain date will still be considered “on call.”

Rehearsals:
Saturday November 19, 10am-5pm
Monday November 21 – Wednesday November 23, 6pm-10pm
Saturday November 26, 10am-5pm
Monday November 28 – Thursday December 1, 6pm-10pm
Saturday December 3, 10am-5pm
Sunday December 4, 6pm-10pm [Sitzprobe]
Monday December 3 – Wednesday December 7, 6pm- ? [Tech]

Shows (call is 2 hours before curtain):
Thursday December 8, 8pm [Open Dress]
Friday December 9, 8pm
Saturday December 10, 8pm
Sunday December 11, 3pm
Thursday December 15, 8pm
Friday December 16, 8pm
Saturday December 17, 8pm
Sunday December 18, 3pm
Tuesday December 20, 8pm
Wednesday December 21. (possible 3pm)+ 8pm

To be notified of auditions for Strand produced live shows, please subscribe to our audition newsletter at http://eepurl.com/u3y8D.